PDA

View Full Version : On The Steelers: It's a fight to the finish for Aaron Smith

stillers4me
08-25-2011, 05:06 AM
Few retire voluntarily. Lynn Swann did. Joe Greene did. Jack Ham did. Not many others did. Center Mike Webster retired from the Steelers, joined the Kansas City coaching staff, then unretired and played for the Chiefs the next two seasons. Running back Willie Parker hasn't played a regular-season NFL game since 2009, but he is trying to return and is playing for the Virginia Destroyers of the UFL. Running back Tiki Barber tried to end four years of retirement this summer at age 36, but no one wanted him.

Steelers defensive end Aaron Smith adds a new dimension, saying he will not know when it is time to quit..............

Read more @ http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/11237/1169751-66-0.stm?cmpid=steelers.xml

86WARD
08-25-2011, 07:03 AM
I can tell you this Aaron...I'm no expert, but it's getting close to that time...I'll leave you with that buddy...

El-Gonzo Jackson
08-25-2011, 09:19 AM
I think he gets told this year. Probably going to start, but I bet Hood takes at least 20% of the snaps away from him.

suitanim
08-25-2011, 10:32 AM
I don't know, when he's healthy he's still pretty dominant. But I think you're both right. Play this season and, unless he's healthy and productive for all 16+, hang 'em up.

ALLD
08-25-2011, 11:26 AM
His body will tell him. It is breaking down now from his style of play unfortunately.

SteelerFanInStl
08-25-2011, 01:07 PM
Aaron's still a very good player but I really think that Ziggy should be starting this year.

Count Steeler
08-25-2011, 04:45 PM
His body will tell him, if not the coaches will.

The game definitely will.

El-Gonzo Jackson
08-25-2011, 05:12 PM
This is a great instance of succession planning bythe Steelers. They have Hood ready and Heyward just drafted, to eventually replace Smith and Keisel.