PDA

View Full Version : LeBeau wants to come back as Steelers defensive coordinator

stillers4me
12-13-2013, 05:38 AM
Dick LeBeau's coaching resume might be unmatched by any defensive coordinator in NFL history. If it's up to him, it won't end with the Steelers (http://triblive.com/sports/steelers/)' disappointing 2013 season.

LeBeau said Thursday he wants to coach for a 42nd season in 2014, and he hopes the Steelers want him back to run a defense that has led almost every major statistical category since 2004.

“I've been blessed to be able to coach this long, and I want to coach, obviously. Because I am a coach,” said LeBeau, who will be 77 at the start of next season. “Again, we'll have to see if people want you to coach.” ..........

Read more: http://triblive.com/sports/steelers/5226061-74/lebeau-coach-defensive#ixzz2nM0hbgpW

one side only
12-13-2013, 07:47 AM
His scheme is tired, even if he isn't. Get him some players and see what he can do.

salamander
12-13-2013, 08:48 AM
Part of me would love to have him back but the other part of me would like to see some change in that spot...

Dwinsgames
12-13-2013, 09:38 AM
Lebeau's system is is liken to a machine gun . his players are the ammo ... he lacks the proper ammo to chamber the gun

zulater
12-13-2013, 09:52 AM
Tough call. Glad I don't have to make it. But if it were my call I'd encourage him to retire, and if he refused I'd guess I'd have to fire him. And it's not him, it's the players. We don't have the players to execute his system properly. And I don't think that can be rectified in one offseason. No real nose tackle, no good inside linebacker other than Timmons. And Troy and Clark have become huge liabilities in coverage, and their tackling in unreliable.

I think we need to switch to the 4-3, and revamp most of the secondary

one side only
12-13-2013, 11:00 AM
http://sportsblogs.post-gazette.com/sports/steelers-steelers-blog