PDA

View Full Version : Steelers insider: No need for Steelers to rush to draft RB

stillers4me
04-07-2013, 08:23 AM
The Steelers (http://triblive.com/sports/steelers/)' draft-day need for a reliable, consistent and hard-to-tackle running back might be greater than at any time in the past 20 years, yet the nation's very first NFL draftnik thinks the worst thing they could do would be to target a runner on the first day of the draft April 25.

To Mel Kiper Jr., who launched a cottage industry in the late 1970s with his NFL Draft analysis handbook and, later, his ESPN on-air work, the Steelers shouldn't rush to acquire a running back even as they come off their second-worst rushing season in 40 years.

“I'd say every year — I've been saying it for 35 years — you can find running backs at any point in the draft,” Kiper said........................

Read more: http://triblive.com/sports/steelers/3763252-74/steelers-running-yards#ixzz2PmdvtNkB

st33lersguy
04-07-2013, 08:32 AM
A lot of the top backs will likely be available round 2-3 but almost all will likely be gone after that, they need to draft one by the 3rd round

Spike
04-07-2013, 08:36 AM
I really wish this were a deeper draft on the OL, just our luck

Ben's ribs will be crushed again if we don't get a legitimate starting LT.....start there.

GBMelBlount
04-07-2013, 08:39 AM
We averaged 4.5 ypc in 2011 which was one of the best in the last 2 decades.

One off year is not cause to panic.

How deep is tackle in the draft?

Spike
04-07-2013, 10:17 AM
kind of a waste of an article...telling us what we DON'T want in the 1st rd

maybe...you'll like this

With the seventeenth pick in the 2013 NFL Draft, the Steelers select Jarvis Jones, OLB, Georgia.