PDA

View Full Version : The O-fishal Tour de France Thread

Indo
06-29-2010, 01:37 PM
OK. LeTour is just around the corner.

Who is gonna be standing on the top of the podium in Paris?

Armstrong? Contador? Leipheimer? Evans? One of the Schlecks?

It's gonna be a good one---Contador is, arguably, one of the best (if not The Best) climber in the world right now. But Astana sucks as far as the "team" goes. The Shack, on the other hand, is hand-picked and coached by the Winningest (!) TdF Director Sportif ever.
Bruyneel is a master tactician. And Lance has no reason to hold back this year. On the contrary, I'm guessing he's gonna want to pound Contador into the ground.

Here's a good article:

http://www.versus.com/blogs/the-experts-opinion/phil-liggetts-take-on-the-next-possible-king-of-the-tour-de-france/

stlrtruck
06-30-2010, 12:48 PM
Since I'm new to cycling, I don't know all the intricacies of a good race team, but neighbor has been educating me on some of these names.

He thinks contador is going to take it but I honestly believe that Lance will pull through with the yellow jersey in Paris. And here's why. He's got a better team around him, his finish in the Tour De Suisse showed he still has it in him. I believe he used the last race to watch the competitors. Contador is going to be the challenger but his team will be his down fall.

I like Andy Schleck and I also like the guy that has the Captain America time trial bike (Zobriske - I believe) but I don't think either of them can compete over the long haul of the tour.

SCSTILLER
06-30-2010, 01:48 PM